( Log In ) Log In is for TREC Teachers & Researchers only

> Tuesday, June 20th, 2006, Lichen Hike
Tracy_Alley
post Jun 22 2006, 12:23 AM
Post #1

Advanced Member

Group: TREC Team
Member No.: 26

On Tuesday, June 20th, we awakened to another beautiful day in the Arctic. The temperature was in the sixties. In the Arctic, the weather can change drastically so you must be prepared with all types of clothing in your backpack.

We spent the morning weeding plots for an experiment conducted by the University of Alaska. When you weed, you are removing certain plants from certain staked plots. My job today was removal of betula. There is a picture of me weeding below. During my weeding, I was warm not needing a coat. Then, it started to rain so I placed on my Gore-Tex clothing to stay dry. Then, it started to hail. Scientists never let weather stop them, but I am not a scientist so I trudged down the hill after three hours of weeding and inclement weather. smile.gif
IPB Image
In the afternoon, we completed lab work. The picture below shows Hanna and Caitlin measuring the biomass of soil. Biomass is the total weight of living organisms. I placed coverings over the beakers then placed the beakers in the lab refrigerator for them.
IPB Image
After dinner, we visited the Toolik Community Center which is basically a large weatherport (tent) to hear a lecture from guest speaker, Roger Kaye. Mr. Kaye is the Manager of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge or ANWR. ANWR has been in the news a great deal, because billions of gallons of oil could be hidden under the surface of the wildlife refuge. The title of the talk was called “The Last Great Wilderness: The Campaign to Establish the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge”. It was a very informative talk. ANWR covers nine million acres of the most beautiful land. It is twice the size of Yellowstone National Park.
IPB Image
IPB Image